- The Washington Times - Wednesday, November 8, 2006


Governor: Republican Gov. Bob Riley, gaining local buzz as a potential 2008 vice presidential pick, won re-election to a second term over Democratic Lt. Gov. Lucy Baxley.


Governor: Mike Beebe, an ally of former President Bill Clinton, defeated Republican Asa Hutchinson, a former member of Congress who helped prosecute Mr. Clinton’s impeachment case. The two camps had raised more than $9.6 million, making this the most expensive governor’s race in state history.


Governor: Republican gubernatorial candidate Charlie Crist defeated Democratic U.S. Rep. Jim Davis.

House: Democrat Tim Mahoney defeated state Rep. Joe Negron in former Rep. Mark Foley’s district. To vote for Mr. Negron, Floridians had to choose Mr. Foley, as his name was still on the ballot, even though he resigned over salacious e-mails to young male congressional pages. Rep. E. Clay Shaw, a Republican, lost his seat to Democrat Ronald Klein.

Senate: Republican Rep. Katherine Harris, who was at the center of the 2000 recount that put President Bush in the White House, lost her race to unseat Democratic Sen. Bill Nelson.


Governor: Republican Gov. Sonny Perdue overcame “the Big Guy” — aka Lt. Gov. Mark Taylor, the Democrat who played up his nearly 300-pound frame in ads by calling himself “the big guy looking out for the lil’ guy.”


House: Rep. Harold Rogers, a 13-term Republican, and Rep. Ben Chandler, second-term Democrat, easily won re-election. Incumbent Bush loyalist Rep. Anne M. Northup narrowly lost to Democratic challenger John Yarmuth. Rep. Ron Lewis, a Baptist preacher who was a poster boy for the Republican takeover of Congress 12 years ago, beat retired Army Col. Mike Weaver, his toughest challenger yet. Former Rep. Ken Lucas failed to regain his old seat from freshman Republican Rep. Geoff Davis.


House: Eight Democrats, three Republicans and one Libertarian lined up against eight-term incumbent Democratic Rep. William J. Jefferson, focus of a federal bribery investigation (authorities reportedly found $90,000 in his freezer). If no one won a majority, the runoff would be Dec. 9.


Senate: Republican Sen. Trent Lott led the rest of the state’s incumbent congressional delegation to easy victories.


House: Former college and Washington Redskins quarterback Heath Shuler banked on his football fame to help him knock off veteran Republican Rep. Charles H. Taylor, a banker and timber baron who is among the wealthiest members of Congress. His game plan? Moderation. He opposes abortion and supports gun rights.

District attorney: In Durham, Mike Nifong fought off a pair of unusual challengers — one a write-in, one pledging not to serve if elected, both angered by his handling of the Duke lacrosse rape case.


Governor: Republican Gov. Mark Sanford’s libertarian leanings angered many party regulars who refused to help his campaign, but he easily beat Democratic challenger Tommy Moore, a state senator.


Governor: Democrat Phil Bredesen won re-election, continuing the state’s tradition of re-electing incumbent governors.

Senate: Democratic Rep. Harold E. Ford Jr. lost a bid to become the first black senator elected in the South since the 1870s to a former Chattanooga mayor, Republican Bob Corker.


Governor: Republican Gov. Rick Perry emerged victorious from a crowded ballot, including Democratic former Rep. Chris Bell and two independents, state Comptroller Carole Keeton Strayhorn and Kinky Friedman, an idiosyncratic comedian-singer-writer.

House: The seat once held by House Majority Leader Tom DeLay might trip into the Democratic column with former Rep. Nick Lampson. To pick the Republican candidate, Shelley Sekula Gibbs, voters had to write her in.


Senate: Republican Sen. George Allen went from presidential hopeful to hope-to-keep-my-job after uttering an obscure racial slur at a volunteer of Indian descent working for Democrat James H. Webb Jr. Mr. Allen — son of the Washington Redskins coach of the same name — went on the offensive, criticizing sexually explicit passages in author Webb’s novels as demeaning to women. The race, in a virtual dead heat, likely will be decided when absentee ballots are tabulated.


Senate: Sen. Robert C. Byrd, the Senate’s longest-serving member, won a record ninth term. National Republicans had hoped this would be a competitive race, but the state’s ranking Republicans declined to challenge the 88-year-old living legend, and the job was left to millionaire industrialist John Raese.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide