- The Washington Times - Friday, February 16, 2007

Historian Douglas L. Wilson has been awarded his second Lincoln Prize — becoming just the second repeat winner in the 17-year-history of the nation’s most generous and prestigious award in the field of American history.

Mr. Wilson, who serves as co-director of the Lincoln Studies Center at Knox College in Galesburg, Ill., won for his book “Lincoln’s Sword: The Presidency and the Power of Words.” He will receive a $50,000 cash award along with a bronze cast of Augustus Saint-Gaudens’ larger-than-life portrait sculpture of Abraham Lincoln. Mr. Wilson previously won the Lincoln Prize in 1999 for “Honor’s Voice: The Transformation of Abraham Lincoln.”

Announcement of the Lincoln Prize winner for the year’s best book on Abraham Lincoln and the Civil War was made by the Lincoln & Soldiers Institute at Gettysburg College, which administers the annual award. The $50,000 prize was co-founded and endowed by business leaders and philanthropists Richard Gilder and Lewis Lehrman, principals of the Gilder Lehrman Institute for American History in New York.

Mr. Gilder and Mr. Lehrman established the prize in 1990 together with Gabor Boritt, director of the Civil War Institute at Gettysburg College.

In addition to the winner, the Lincoln Prize acknowledged two finalists for special mention: Martha Hodes, professor of history at New York University, for “The Sea Captain’s Wife: A True Story of Love, Race, and War in the Nineteenth Century,” and Harry S. Stout, the Jonathan Edwards Professor of American Religious History at Yale University, for “Upon the Altar of the Nation: A Moral History of the Civil War.”

The Lincoln Prize will be awarded formally at a dinner at the Union League Club of New York on April 2.

The Washington Times

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide