- The Washington Times - Monday, March 5, 2007


PROVIDENCE, R.I. - Georgetown juniors Jeff Green and Roy Hibbert were among five unanimous selections to the All-Big East first team today.

Pittsburgh’s Aaron Gray, the only repeat selection from last season, and fellow seniors Herbert Hill of Providence and Demetris Nichols of Syracuse were the other unanimous picks in the voting of the league’s 16 head coaches.

Also selected to the 11-man first team were Russell Carter and Colin Falls of Notre Dame, Dominic James of Marquette, Lamont Hamilton of St. John’s, Curtis Sumpter of Villanova and Frank Young of West Virginia. All are seniors except James, a sophomore who was the league’s Rookie of the Year last season.

Green and Hibbert, both second-team selections last season, led the Hoyas (23-6, 13-3) to their first Big East regular-season title since 1988-89. The 6-foot-9 Green led Georgetown in scoring at 13.6 points per game, while the 7-2 Hibbert averaged 12.7 points and led the Hoyas with 6.4 rebounds per game.

Gray, the pre-season Player of the Year, averaged 14.4 points and 10.1 rebounds for the second-place Panthers (25-6, 12-4).

Hill averaged 18.0 points and 8.6 rebounds this season for the Friars, well above his 9.0 and 4.8 averages as a junior.

Nichols led the conference in scoring at 18.8 points per game and shot 86.7 percent from the free throw line.

The 11-member all-rookie team included three unanimous picks: Jerome Dyson of Connecticut, Eugene Harvey of Seton Hall and Scottie Reynolds of Villanova.

The conference’s player, rookie and coach of the year will be announced Tuesday night.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide