- The Washington Times - Thursday, May 10, 2007

Can’t say there’s any surprises on this year’s Tewaaraton Trophy finalists list.

The organization that presents the Heisman of college lacrosse released its five finalists today: Duke’s Matt Danowski, Virginia’s Ben Rubeor, Johns Hopkins’ Paul Rabil, Cornell’s Max Seibald and Albany’s Frank Resetarits.

The order they’re listed in quite intentional. It’s the same as the seeding of the players’ respective teams in the NCAA tournament, with Duke at No. 1 and Albany at No. 5. Just goes to show how much team success fuels individual honors at so many levels.

That’s not to say those are bad choices. The first four are pretty much no-brainers; Danowski and Rubeor are a treat to watch, and Rabil might be the first-, second- and third-best reasons to believe the Hop could win a title this month.

Frankly, I haven’t seen Seibald and Resetarits, and that’s my loss. Perhaps that can get rectified if their teams meet in the quarterfinals at Princeton next weekend.

The winner isn’t announced until May 30 — two days after the national title game — but here’s a hint for anyone who wants to win and name doesn’t rhyme with “Mandowski”: Your chances are slim unless you’re celebrating on Memorial Day.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide