- The Washington Times - Tuesday, May 15, 2007

A complete list of nominations for the 61st annual Tony awards:

Play (and playwrights): “The Coast of Utopia” (Tom Stoppard), “Frost/Nixon” (Peter Morgan), “The Little Dog Laughed” (Douglas Carter Beane), “Radio Golf” (August Wilson).

Musical: “Curtains,” “Grey Gardens,” “Mary Poppins,” “Spring Awakening.”

Book-Musical: “Curtains” (Rupert Holmes and Peter Stone), “Grey Gardens” (Doug Wright), “Legally Blonde the Musical” (Heather Hach), “Spring Awakening” (Steven Sater).

Original Score (Music and/or Lyrics): “Curtains” (music: John Kander, lyrics: Fred Ebb, John Kander and Rupert Holmes), “Grey Gardens” (music: Scott Frankel, lyrics: Michael Korie), “Legally Blonde the Musical” (music and lyrics: Laurence O’Keefe and Nell Benjamin), “Spring Awakening” (music: Duncan Sheik, lyrics: Steven Sater).

Revival-Play: “Inherit the Wind,” “Journey’s End,” “Talk Radio,” “Translations.”

Revival-Musical: “The Apple Tree,” “A Chorus Line,” “Company,” “110 in the Shade.”

Special Theatrical Event: “Jay Johnson: The Two and Only,” “Kiki & Herb Alive on Broadway.”

Actor-Play: Boyd Gaines, “Journey’s End”; Frank Langella, “Frost/Nixon”; Brian F. O’Byrne, “The Coast of Utopia”; Christopher Plummer, “Inherit the Wind”; Live Schreiber, “Talk Radio.”

Actress-Play: Eve Best, “A Moon for the Misbegotten”; Swoosie Kurtz, “Heartbreak House”; Angela Lansbury, “Deuce”; Vanessa Redgrave, “The Year of Magical Thinking”; Julie White, “The Little Dog Laughed.”

Actor-Musical: Michael Cerveris, “LoveMusik”; Raul Esparza, “Company”; Jonathan Groff, “Spring Awakening”; Gavin Lee, “Mary Poppins”; David Hyde Pierce, “Curtains.”

Actress-Musical: Laura Bell Bundy, “Legally Blonde the Musical”; Christine Ebersole, “Grey Gardens”; Audra McDonald, “110 in the Shade”; Debra Monk, “Curtains”; Donna Murphy, “LoveMusik.”

Featured Actor-Play: Anthony Chisholm, “Radio Golf”; Billy Crudup, “The Coast of Utopia”; Ethan Hawke, “The Coast of Utopia”; John Earl Jelks, “Radio Golf”; Stark Sands, “Journey’s End.”

Featured Actress-Play: Jennifer Ehle, “The Coast of Utopia”; Xanthe Elbrick, “Coram Boy”; Dana Ivey, “Butley”; Jan Maxwell, “Coram Boy”; Martha Plimpton, “The Coast of Utopia.”

Featured Actor-Musical: Brooks Ashmanskas, “Martin Short: Fame Becomes Me”; Christian Borle, “Legally Blonde the Musical”; John Cullum, “110 in the Shade”; John Gallagher Jr., “Spring Awakening”; David Pittu, “LoveMusik.”

Featured Actress-Musical: Charlotte d’Amboise, “A Chorus Line”; Rebecca Luker, “Mary Poppins”; Orfeh, “Legally Blonde the Musical”; Mary Louise Wilson, “Grey Gardens”; Karen Ziemba, “Curtains.”

Direction-Play: Michael Grandage, “Frost/Nixon”; David Grindley, “Journey’s End”; Jack O’Brien, “The Coast of Utopia”; Melly Still, “Coram Boy.”

Direction-Musical: John Doyle, “Company”; Scott Ellis, “Curtains”; Michael Grief, “Grey Gardens”; Michael Mayer, “Spring Awakening.”

Choreography: Rob Ashford, “Curtains”; Matthew Bourne and Stephen Mere, “Mary Poppins”; Bill T. Jones, “Spring Awakening”; Jerry Mitchell, “Legally Blonde the Musical.”

Orchestrations: Bruce Coughlin, “Grey Gardens”; Duncan Sheik, “Spring Awakening”; Jonathan Tunick, “LoveMusik”; Jonathan Tunick, “110 in the Shade,”

Scenic Design-Play: Bob Crowley and Scott Pask, “The Coast of Utopia”; Jonathan Fensom, “Journey’s End”; David Gallo, “Radio Golf”; Ti Green and Melly Still, “Coram Boy.”

Scenic Design-Musical: Bob Crowley, “Mary Poppins”; Christine Jones, “Spring Awakening”; Anna Louizos, “High Fidelity”; Allen Moyer, “Grey Gardens.”

Costume Design-Play: Ti Green and Melly Still, “Coram Boy”; Jane Greenwood, “Heartbreak House”; Santo Loquasto, “Inherit the Wind”; Catherine Zuber, “The Coast of Utopia.”

Costume Design-Musical: Gregg Barnes, “Legally Blonde the Musical”; Bob Crowley, “Mary Poppins”; Susan Hilferty, “Spring Awakening”; William Ivey Long, “Grey Gardens.”

Lighting Design-Play: Paule Constable, “Coram Boy”; Brian MacDevitt, “Inherit the Wind”; Brian MacDevitt, Kenneth Posner and Natasha Katz, “The Coast of Utopia”; Jason Taylor, “Journey’s End.”

Lighting Design-Musical: Kevin Adams, “Spring Awakening”; Christopher Akerlind, “110 in the Shade”; Howard Harrison, “Mary Poppins”; Peter Kaczorowski, “Grey Gardens.”

Regional Theater Tony Award: Alliance Theatre in Atlanta.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide