- The Washington Times - Thursday, April 2, 2009

WASHINGTON (AP) - The Internal Revenue Service is giving flood victims in Minnesota and North Dakota an extra 30 days to file their tax returns.

The IRS said Thursday it’s giving a break to those people because the flooding occurred so close to the April 15 filing deadline.

Taxpayers and relief workers affected by the flooding now have until midnight May 15 to file and make payments on their 2008 individual returns.

Affected taxpayers can mark paper tax returns with the words “severe storms, flooding.”

Taxpayers who file their returns electronically can use their software’s “disaster” feature, if it’s available.


In North Dakota, the delay applies to flood victims in these counties and Indian reservations:

Adams, Barnes, Benson, Billings, Burleigh, Cass, Cavalier, Dickey, Dunn, Emmons, Foster, Grand Forks, Grant, Hettinger, Kidder, LaMoure, Logan, McIntosh, McKenzie, McLean, Mercer, Morton, Nelson, Oliver, Pembina, Ramsey, Ransom, Richland, Sargent, Sioux, Stark, Stutsman, Walsh, and Williams counties, and Standing Rock and Spirit Lake Indian reservations.

In Minnesota:

Clay, Kittson, Marshall, Norman, Polk, Traverse and Wilkin.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide