- The Washington Times - Wednesday, March 11, 2009

From combined dispatches



CLEVELAND ST. 57, No. 16 BUTLER 54: Cedric Jackson scored 19 points, and the Vikings (25-10) used a flurry of 3-pointers to beat the Bulldogs (26-5) on Tuesday night in Indianapolis, winning the tournament championship and their first NCAA tournament berth since 1986.

Six of Cleveland State’s first seven field goals in the second half were 3-pointers, helping the Vikings erase an eight-point lead by the Bulldogs.

Butler’s last lead was 48-47 midway through the half, and then Jackson hit a 3-pointer and a floater in the lane to put the Vikings in front for good. Butler had two chances to tie in the closing seconds, but Shelvin Mack and Gordon Hayward missed 3-pointers.


FLORIDA A&M 71, HOWARD 58: Lamar Twitty scored 20 points and Dale Hughes added 16, helping the Rattlers (10-20) beat the Bison (8-22) in the first round in Winston-Salem, N.C.

Eighth-seeded Florida A&M will play top seed Morgan State in Wednesday’s quarterfinals. FAMU handed Morgan State one of its three conference losses during the season.

HAMPTON 51, DELAWARE ST. 32: Darrion Pellum scored 12 points, and the Pirates (16-15) held the Hornets (8-24) to a season-low point total in a victory Tuesday night in the first round in Winston-Salem, N.C.


W. KENTUCKY 64, S. ALABAMA 56: A.J. Slaughter scored 18 points, and the Hilltoppers (24-8) beat the Jaguars (20-13) to win the Sun Belt tournament in Hot Springs, Ark., and claim their 21st NCAA tournament berth.


N. DAKOTA ST. 66, OAKLAND (Mich.) 64: Ben Woodside made a jumper with three seconds left to give the top-seeded Bison (26-6) a win over the No. 3 seed Grizzlies (22-12) for the title and a berth in the NCAA tournament.


OHIO 62, W. MICHIGAN 55: Michael Allen’s layup put the Bobcats up for good with 1:28 to play as Ohio (15-16) beat the Broncos (10-21) in the opening round in Cleveland.

C. MICHIGAN 62, E. MICHIGAN 49: Marcus Van scored 17 points and Robbie Harman added 13 to lead the Chippewas (12-18) to a win over the Eagles (8-24).

KENT STATE 64, N. ILLINOIS 61: Al Fisher scored 25 points, including two key scores in the final minutes, as the Golden Flashes (19-13) rallied to beat the Huskies (10-20).

AKRON 93, TOLEDO 92 (OT): Brett McKnight’s lay-in with less than a second left gave the Zips (20-12) an overtime win over the Rockets (7-25).



No. 1 UCONN 75, No. 5 LOUISVILLE 36: Maya Moore scored 28 points, and the Huskies (33-0) cruised to their 15th Big East tournament championship with a dominating win over the Cardinals (29-4) in Hartford, Conn.


No. 17 S. DAKOTA ST. 79, OAKLAND (Mich.) 69: Jennifer Warkenthien scored 23 points, and the Jackrabbits (31-2) earned an NCAA tournament bid in their first season of Division I eligibility with a victory against the Grizzlies (26-6) in the championship game in Sioux Falls, S.D.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide