- The Washington Times - Thursday, March 12, 2009

LOS ANGELES (AP) - Tyler Hansbrough of North Carolina, Davidson’s Stephen Curry and Luke Harangody of Notre Dame are among the candidates for the John R. Wooden Award as college basketball’s player of the year.

Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris and Maya Moore of Connecticut led the contenders for the women’s award.

The final ballots were announced Thursday.

Hansbrough, who leads the Atlantic Coast Conference with 21.1 points a game, won the award last year. Curry leads the nation in scoring at 28.6 points, while Harangody is seventh with 23.7 points and fifth in rebounding at 12.1 per game.

Also on the ballot is Hansbrough’s teammate, Ty Lawson, along with Pittsburgh teammates DeJuan Blair and Sam Young, and Duke teammates Gerald Henderson and Kyle Singler.

Along with eight seniors, Memphis guard Tyreke Evans was the only freshman selected as a finalist.

The others are A.J. Abrams of Texas, Jon Brockman of Washington, Nick Calathes of Florida, Sherron Collins of Kansas, UCLA’s Darren Collison, Blake Griffin of Oklahoma, James Harden of Arizona State, Jordan Hill of Arizona, Kalin Lucas of Michigan State, Jerel McNeal of Marquette, Kentucky’s Jodie Meeks, Kyle Singler of Duke, Jeff Teague of Wake Forest, Hasheem Thabeet of Connecticut, Marcus Thornton of Louisiana State, and Terrence Williams of Louisville.

Besides Paris and Moore, the other women’s candidates are Jayne Appel of Stanford, Chante Black of Duke, DeWanna Bonner of Auburn, Alysha Clark of Middle Tennessee State, Marissa Coleman of Maryland, Jantel Lavender of Ohio State, Shalee Lehning of Kansas State and Angel McCoughtry of Louisville.

Also, Renee Montgomery of Connecticut, Ta’Shia Phillips of Xavier, Epiphanny Prince of Rutgers, Andrea Riley of Oklahoma State, Kristi Toliver of Maryland, Ashley Walker of California, Danielle Wilson of Baylor, Monica Wright of Virginia, and Shavonte Zellous of Pittsburgh.

Voters for the men’s and women’s awards have until March 30 to cast ballots, allowing players to be considered through the later stages of the NCAA tournaments.

The awards will be presented April 10 at the Los Angeles Athletic Club. Rick Barnes of Texas will receive the Legends of Coaching award.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide