- The Washington Times - Sunday, March 15, 2009

WAILEA, HAWAII (AP) - Player representatives from each of the 32 NFL teams began voting on a successor to the late Gene Upshaw as executive director of the NFL Players Association.

The four finalists to lead the union into a critical new era include two former NFLPA presidents, Troy Vincent and Trace Armstrong, plus attorneys David Cornwell and DeMaurice Smith.

A majority vote Sunday would decide who gets the job and conclude a long, divisive and unpredictable seven-month search process. The players heard from the four candidates Saturday and started the closed-door voting process 2:45 p.m. local time Sunday.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide