- The Washington Times - Tuesday, September 15, 2009

Presenters named

The Primetime Emmy Awards are just days away, and the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences has finally announced the first group of names who will present awards during Sunday night’s ceremony.

Five of them are also vying for awards. Tina Fey, who won a trophy for her pitch-perfect portrayal of vice-presidential candidate Sarah Palin on “Saturday Night Live” at Saturday’s creative arts Emmys, is up for outstanding lead actress for “30 Rock.” Two outstanding lead actor nominees will also present: Simon Baker of the “Psych”-ripoff crime drama “The Mentalist,” and Jon Hamm of the 1960s advertising drama “Mad Men.” Kiefer Sutherland is nominated for the miniseries or movie category for “24: Redemption.” Chandra Wilson is up for two Emmys — supporting actress for “Grey’s Anatomy” and lead actress in the TV movie “Accidental Friendship.”

The other presenters announced are “Gossip Girl” stars Blake Lively and Leighton Meester, late-night host Jimmy Fallon, “How I Met Your Mother’s” Jason Segel and Alyson Hannigan, “True Blood’s” Stephen Moyer and “Desperate Housewives’” Dana Delany.

The 61st Primetime Emmy Awards will be broadcast live from Los Angeles’ Nokia Theatre 8 p.m. Sunday on CBS.

Compiled by Kelly Jane Torrance from staff, wire and Web reports

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide