- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 1, 2010

ZURICH (AP) - A look at the 2018 and 2022 World Cup host votes Thursday:

TIME: Ceremony scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. EST

VENUE: Messe conference center, Zurich

BIDDING NATIONS: Russia, England, Spain-Portugal, Belgium-Netherlands for 2018; United States, Japan, Australia, South Korea, Qatar for 2022

VOTERS: Sepp Blatter, Julio Grondona, Issa Hayatou, Chung Mong-joon, Jack Warner, Angel Maria Villar, Michel Platini, Geoff Thompson, Michel D’Hooghe, Ricardo Teixeira, Mohamed Bin Hammam, Senes Erzik, Chuck Blazer, Worawi Makudi, Nicolas Leoz, Junji Ogura, Marios Lefkaritis, Jacques Anouma, Franz Beckenbauer, Rafael Salguero, Hany Abo Rida, Vitaly Mutko

SUSPENDED VOTERS: Reynald Temarii, Amos Adamu

RULES: Vote is by secret ballot, with the 2018 election first, followed by 2022. The winner must have an absolute majority. In the case of a tie, FIFA President Sepp Blatter casts the deciding vote.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide