Thursday, May 6, 2010

NEW YORK | Don Maloney of the Phoenix Coyotes, George McPhee of the Washington Capitals and David Poile of the Nashville Predators are the finalists for the inaugural NHL general manager of the year award.

The winner will be announced during the Stanley Cup final, the NHL said in a release Thursday.

Maloney’s Coyotes had the most successful regular season in franchise history.

McPhee’s Capitals set a club record with 121 points and the first Presidents’ Trophy in franchise history.

Poile’s Predators recorded 100 points and qualified for the playoffs for the fifth time in the past six seasons.

Voting was conducted among the 30 club GMs and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide