- Associated Press - Wednesday, July 13, 2011

JACKSON, WYO. (AP) - A Wyoming foundation named for the woman who was the first to vote there is honoring Lynne Cheney, the wife of former Vice President Dick Cheney.

Cheney is scheduled to receive the Louisa Swain Award Wednesday evening in Jackson. Wyoming Gov. Matt Mead is among those expected to attend the ceremony.

The award is the second given by the foundation named for Louisa Swain. She was the first woman to cast her ballot in 1870 in Laramie after women were given the right to vote in Wyoming Territory.

The first Louisa Swain Award was given to former Wyoming first lady Jane Sullivan.

The foundation’s website says the award recognizes those who “display the qualities of courage, community and character exhibited by Louisa Swain as she cast her historic ballot.”



The Louisa Swain Foundation, https://www.thelouisaswainfoundation.com/

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide