- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 14, 2012

NEW YORK (AP) - Johnny Depp and his quirky sense of style caught the eye of the Council of Fashion Designers of America, and the group will give him its fashion icon award at its annual gala in June.

CFDA president Diane von Furstenberg and CEO Steven Kolb announced details of the awards ceremony Wednesday night.

The nominees for womenswear designer of the year, the biggest prize, are Ashley and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Marc Jacobs.

“This year, as we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the CFDA, we can see what a critical role the CFDA Fashion Awards continue to play in our efforts to promote American Fashion,” Kolb said in a news release. “This year’s nominees truly represent the important influence of American design. We look forward to once again honoring the best and brightest talent working today.”

Top contenders in menswear are Billy Reid, Patrik Ervell and Simon Spurr, and for the best in accessory design they are Alexander Wang, Reed Krakoff and McCollough and Hernandez. Tommy Hilfiger is to receive a lifetime achievement award.

The ceremony will be held on June 4 at Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts’ Alice Tully Hall. Comedian Seth Meyers will be the evening’s host.

Other honorees:

_Swarovski Award for emerging talent in womenswear: Chris Peters and Shane Gabier for Creatures of the Wind, Joseph Altuzarra, and Max Osterweis and Erin Beatty for Suno.

_Emerging talent in menswear: Antonio Azzuolo, Phillip Lim and Todd Snyder.

_Emerging talent in accessories: Irene Neuwirth, Pamela Love and Tabitha Simmons.

_Media award: Scott Schuman and Garance Dore.

_Founders award: Andrew Rosen.

_International award: Rei Kawakubo for Comme des Garcons.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide