- Associated Press - Friday, May 4, 2012

OTTAWA (AP) - The expanded Women’s World Cup in 2015 will be played in six Canadian cities: Edmonton, Montreal, Ottawa, Vancouver, Winnipeg and Moncton.

FIFA President Sepp Blatter announced the sites Friday on Parliament Hill for what will be the largest single sports event for women.

The tournament set to increase from 16 to 24 countries and from 32 to 52 matches. Sixteen teams competed in the 2011 World Cup in Germany.

The federal government has committed up to $15 million to the tournament. That money will not be used for infrastructure.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide