- Associated Press - Wednesday, March 13, 2013

NEW YORK (AP) - Claire Vaye Watkins has won a $20,000 Story Prize, the first woman to do so since 2007.

Vaye received the ninth annual Story Prize on Wednesday night for “Battleborn,” a collection of 10 short stories set in the American West in the past and present.

The other finalists were Junot Diaz for “This is How You Lose Her” and Dan Chaon (shorn) for “Stay Awake.” Each will receive $5,000.

The last woman to win the Story Prize was Mary Gordon for “The Stories of Mary Gordon.”

The award was established in 2004 to honor short story collections. Previous winners include Edwidge Danticat for “The Dew Breaker,” Patrick O’Keeffe for “The Hill Road” and Steven Millhauser for “We Others.”

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide