- Associated Press - Monday, April 14, 2014

IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) - The Iowa Secretary of State’s Office has identified nine voters from eight counties whose ballots were wrongly rejected in 2012 because of mistakes on its database of ineligible felons.

The office said Monday that single voters from the counties of Black Hawk, Des Moines, Jones, Marshall, Muscatine, Story and Winnebago were affected. Two voters from Woodbury County were also affected, as well as three previously identified voters from Cerro Gordo County.

All 12 of the voters were incorrectly flagged as potential felons when they showed up on Election Day in November 2012.

In every case, they had never lost their voting rights and should never have been on the felon list or they had their rights restored and should have been taken off of it.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide