- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 13, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Brooklyn, Michigan.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, noon-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 4:30-6 p.m.); Saturday, practice (ESPN2, 11 a.m.-noon); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (ESPN, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: AJ Allmendinger won on the road course at Watkins Glen for his first career Sprint Car victory. He drives for JTG Daugherty Racing.

Last year: Joey Logano won on fuel mileage. Kevin Harvick was second.

Fast facts: Tony Stewart sat out at Watkins Glen, a day after the three-time Cup champion struck and killed Kevin Ward Jr. under caution in a sprint car race in Canandaigua, New York. Stewart hasn’t announced whether he’ll drive this weekend. … Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. With four regular-season races left, Dale Earnhardt Jr., Jimmie Johnson and Brad Keselowski top the series with three victories. Harvick, Logano, Jeff Gordon and Carl Edwards each have two wins, and Allmendinger, Kyle Busch, Aric Almirola, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Earnhardt leads the standings, four points ahead of Gordon. … Johnson won at the track in June. … Keselowski is from Rochester Hills, Michigan.

Next week: Irwin Tools Night Race, Aug. 23, Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tennessee.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Lexington, Ohio.

Schedule: Thursday, practice; Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 9:30-11 a.m.), race, 2:45 p.m. (ESPN, 2:30-6 p.m.).

Track: Mid-Ohio Sports Car Course (road course, 2.258 miles).

Race distance: 203.22 miles, 90 laps.

Last year: AJ Allmendinger raced to his second road-course victory of the season.

Last week: Marcos Ambrose won at Watkins Glen. He won at the track from 2008-2010 and missed the 2011-2013 events.

Fast facts: The race is the last of three road-course events this year. Brendan Gaughan won at Road America in June. … Chase Elliott leads the standings, 12 points ahead of JR Motorsports teammate Regan Smith and 13 in front of Elliott Sadler and Ty Dillon. … The race was added to the schedule last year, replacing the Montreal event.

Next week: Food City 300, Aug. 22, Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tennessee.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Brooklyn, Michigan.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 1:30-2:30 p.m., 3-4:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 9:30-11 a.m.), race, 12:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, noon-2:30 p.m.).

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 100 laps.

Last year: James Buescher raced to his first of his two 2013 victories.

Last event: Austin Dillon won at Pocono on Aug. 2.

Fast facts: Kyle Busch has won all five of his series starts this season. He has six straight victories dating to last season and 40 overall in 120 series starts. Kyle Busch Motorsports has eight victories in the first 11 races of the season. Darrell Wallace Jr. has two victories for the team and Erik Jones also has won. … Ryan Blaney leads the standings, seven points ahead of Johnny Sauter.

Next race: UNOH 200, Aug. 20, Bristol Motor Speedway, Bristol, Tennessee.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: West Allis, Wisconsin.

Schedule: Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 8-9 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3:50 p.m. (NBC Sports Network, 3-6 p.m.).

Track: Milwaukee Mile (oval, 1.0 mile).

Race distance: 250 miles, 250 laps.

Last year: Andretti Autosport’s Ryan Hunter-Reay won at the track for the second year in a row. He also won a 2004 Champ Car race on the oval.

Last race: Target Chip Ganassi’s Scott Dixon won at Mid-Ohio on Aug. 3 for his fifth victory at the track in eight years.

Fast facts: Will Power leads the season standings, four points ahead of Team Penske teammate Helio Castroneves with three races left. … Hunter-Reay won the Indianapolis 500. … The Milwaukee Mile held its first auto race in 1903. The infield also was the site of some Packers games in the 1930s, including Green Bay’s 1939 NFL championship game victory over the New York Giants. … The Indy Lights race also is Sunday (NBC Sports Network, 6-7 p.m.).

Next race: Grand Prix of Sonoma, Sonoma Raceway, Aug. 24, Sonoma, California.

Online: https://www.indycar.com




Site: Brainerd, Minnesota.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11 p.m.-1 a.m.); Sunday, final eliminations (ESPN2, 9 p.m.-midnight).

Track: Brainerd International Raceway.

Last year: Ron Capps raced to the last of his three 2013 Funny Car victories. Spencer Massey won in Top Fuel, and Mike Edwards topped the Pro Stock field.

Last event: John Force won the Northwest Nationals in Kent, Washington, on Aug. 3 for the 65-year-old star’s third Funny Car victory of the season and record 141st overall. Doug Kalitta won in Top Fuel, and Jason Line in Pro Stock.

Fast facts: There are two regular-season events left until the six-race Countdown to the Championship. Robert Hight, a five-time winner this year, leads the Funny Car standings - 47 points ahead of teammate and owner Force. … Kalitta has a 76-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel. Brown leads the series with five victories, and Kalitta has two. Erica Enders-Stevens tops the Pro Stock standings. She has four victories this year.

Next event: U.S. Nationals, Aug. 27-Sept. 1, Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis, Clermont, Indiana.

Online: https://www.nhra.com



Next race: Belgian Grand Prix, Aug. 24, Spa-Francorchamps Circuit, Spa-Francorchamps, Belgium.

Last race: Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo won the Hungarian Grand Prix on July 27 for his second victory of the season.

Online: https://www.formula1.com



ARCA RACING SERIES: SuperChevyStores.com 100, Sunday, Illinois State Fairgrounds, Springfield, Illinois. Online: https://www.arcaracing.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown: Tony Bettenhausen 100, Saturday, Illinois State Fairgrounds, Springfield, Illinois. Online: https://www.usacracing.com

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, River Cities Speedway, Grand Forks, North Dakota; Nodak Speedway, Sunday, Minot, North Dakota. Late Model: Thursday, Delaware International Speedway, Delmar, Delaware; Friday, Potomac Speedway, Budds Creek, Maryland; Saturday, Winchester Speedway, Winchester, Virginia. Super DirtCar: Lebanon Valley Speedway, West Lebanon, New York. Online: https://www.worldofoutlaws.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide