- Associated Press - Saturday, August 16, 2014

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - In a story Aug. 15 about (topic), The Associated Press reported erroneously that Bruce Pearl was fired as Tennessee’s coach in 2012. Pearl was actually fired in 2011.

A corrected version of the story is below:

Vols face ex-coach Pearl, host Auburn on Jan. 31

Tennessee to face ex-Vols coach Bruce Pearl when Auburn visits Knoxville on Jan. 31

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - Former Tennessee coach Bruce Pearl returns to Thompson-Boling Arena as an opponent Jan. 31 when the Volunteers host Auburn.

Pearl led Tennessee to NCAA tournament appearances in each of his six seasons before getting fired amid an NCAA investigation in 2011. Auburn hired Pearl in March, and he returns to coaching this season. The date of the Auburn-Tennessee game was announced Friday as the Vols revealed their entire 2014-15 season.

Tennessee already had announced its non-conference schedule in June. The Southeastern Conference announced its composite schedule Friday, allowing Tennessee to unveil its entire 2014-15 slate.

The five SEC opponents Tennessee will face twice each are Arkansas, LSU, Mississippi State, South Carolina and Vanderbilt. Tennessee’s lone game with Kentucky is Feb. 17 in Knoxville. The Vols aren’t facing Kentucky in Lexington for the first time since 1953.

Tennessee doesn’t host Florida but will face the Gators in Gainesville on Feb. 28. Tennessee won’t host Georgia for the first time since 1964.

The schedule:

Nov. 14: vs. VCU at Annapolis, Maryland. Nov. 20: Texas Southern. Nov. 27: vs. Santa Clara at Orlando Classic in Orlando, Florida. Nov. 28: vs. Kansas or Rhode Island at Orlando Classic. No. 30: TBD in Orlando Classic. Dec. 6: Kansas State. Dec. 14: Butler. Dec. 17: at North Carolina State. Dec. 19: Tennessee Tech. Dec. 22: Mercer. Dec. 27: Tennessee State. Dec. 31: East Tennessee State. Jan. 7: at Mississippi State. Jan. 10: Alabama. Jan. 13: Arkansas. Jan. 17: at Missouri. Jan. 20: at South Carolina. Jan. 24: Texas A&M.; Jan. 27: at Arkansas. Jan. 31: Auburn. Feb. 3: Mississippi State. Feb. 7: at Georgia. Feb. 11: at Vanderbilt. Feb. 14: LSU. Feb. 17: Kentucky. Feb. 21: at Ole Miss. Feb. 26: Vanderbilt. Feb. 28: at Florida. March 4: at LSU. March 7: South Carolina.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide