- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 19, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Two more Iowa counties have been added to a federal disaster declaration issued recently in response to severe weather.

Gov. Terry Branstad announced Tuesday that Crawford and Shelby counties have been added to the disaster declaration granted two weeks ago to 22 Iowa counties that experienced damage due to storms and flooding.

The governor requested the support from President Barack Obama after the counties were hit with storms, hail, tornadoes and heavy rain in June and July. The declaration means the counties will get federal funding to help with rebuilding efforts, such as repairing property, removing debris and other emergency work.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide