- Associated Press - Wednesday, August 20, 2014

BATON ROUGE, La. (AP) - Oct. 1 is the deadline for entries to the eighth annual Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence.

Sponsored by the donors of the Baton Rouge Area Foundation, the award honors outstanding fiction from rising African-American writers and includes a $10,000 cash prize.

The Advertiser reports (https://bit.ly/1tmuUzF) the winner will be announced in early November and presented during ceremonies held Jan. 22 at the Manship Theatre in Baton Rouge.

The award recognizes Pointe Coupee Parish native Gaines, a nationally acclaimed fiction writer and creative writing instructor at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette.

Information on submission criteria and entry forms for the award are available at www.ernestjgainesaward.org .

The most recent winner is Attica Locke for her novel “The Cutting Season.” Previous winners include Stephanie Powell Watts for “We Are Taking Only What We Need,” Dinaw Mengestu, who was selected as a MacArthur Fellow in 2012, for “How to Read the Air” and Victor LaValle for “Big Machine.”

Gaines’ critically acclaimed novel, “The Autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman,” was adapted into a 1974 made-for-TV movie that won nine Emmy awards. “A Lesson Before Dying,” published in 1993, won the National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction. This year marks the 50th anniversary of Gaines first novel, Catherine Carmier.


Information from: The Advertiser, https://www.theadvertiser.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide