- Associated Press - Tuesday, August 26, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The U.S. Small Business Administration says the deadline is nearing for small, nonfarm business in 16 Arkansas counties and neighboring parishes and counties in Louisiana and Mississippi affected by drought to apply for disaster loans.

The deadline is Sept. 15 to apply for the Economic Injury Disaster Loan. The loans are available to small, nonfarm businesses that are dependent on farmers and ranchers who suffered losses due to the drought that began Oct. 1, 2013.

The Arkansas counties are Bradley, Calhoun, Cleveland, Desha, Drew, Lincoln, Union, Arkansas, Ashley, Chicot, Columbia, Dallas, Grant, Jefferson, Ouachita and Phillips. Also, Claiborne, Morehouse and Union parishes in Louisiana and Bolivar and Coahoma counties in Mississippi are included.

Farming or ranching businesses are not eligible, but may qualify for U.S. Department of Agriculture assistance.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide