- Associated Press - Monday, December 1, 2014

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) - Here are the leaders chosen by Republicans and Democrats in the Kansas House for 2015 and 2016.

House members and members-elect had organizational meetings Monday at the Statehouse.

Republicans will have a 97-28 majority when lawmakers open their 2015 session in January.


Speaker: Ray Merrick, Stilwell.

Majority Leader: Jene Vickrey, Louisburg.

Speaker Pro Tem: Peggy Mast, Emporia.

Assistant Majority Leader: Mario Goico, Wichita.

Whip: Ron Ryckman Jr., Olathe.

Caucus Chairman: Travis Couture-Lovelady, Palco.


Minority Leader: Tom Burroughs, Kansas City.

Assistant Minority Leader: Louis Ruiz, Kansas City.

Whip: Ed Trimmer, Winfield.

Agenda Chairman: Brandon Whipple, Wichita.

Caucus Chairwoman: Barbara Ballard, Lawrence.

Policy Chairman: John Wilson, Lawrence.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide