- Associated Press - Saturday, December 13, 2014

SIOUX FALLS, S.D. (AP) - The South Dakota Democratic Party has elected a new leader.

Ann Tornberg, of Beresford, has been selected by the party’s state central committee as the new chairwoman. Joe Lowe, of Piedmont, will serve as the party’s vice chairman.

Tornberg on Saturday said Democrats in South Dakota have a lot of work to do to rebuild “county parties, recruit top tier candidates and register voters.” She adds that she will work to build consensus, advance issues that are importing to working families and “elect Democrats up and down the ballot.”

Bill Nibbelink, of Flandreau, was re-elected as treasurer, and Lorri May, of Madison, was re-elected as secretary.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide