- Associated Press - Monday, December 15, 2014

MEXICO CITY (AP) - America defeated Tigres 3-0 on Sunday to win Mexico’s first division title and become the most successful team in the league’s history.

Like most Latin American countries, Mexico divides its season into two parts, crowning champions for the first and second halves of the season. America has won the first half, claiming the Apertura title. It is the 12th championship for the Mexico City team.

Ecuador international Michael Arroyo netted a powerful strike in the 36th minute after surging into the area, feinting with a step that wrong-footed defender Hugo Ayala and shot into the top right corner.

Pablo Aguilar doubled the lead with a header in the 62nd.

In the second half, Tigres went down to eight men when Hernan Burbano was sent off in the 64th and Damian Alvarez was shown a red card three minutes later. Goalkeeper Nahuel Guzman was next, receiving a second yellow in the 72nd. America’s Luis Mendoza was also sent off in the 79th.

Oribe Peralta secured the victory and the championship with a strike into the bottom left corner in the 78th.

“We knew the final wouldn’t finish in Monterrey,” said Osvaldo Martinez immediately after the game. “We approached the task with great courage.”

The victory means America have won more championships than arch rival Chivas. The Guadalajara team has won 11

“We have had good results for the past three years,” said America club president Ricardo Pelaez. “We have the most demanding fans, but also the most supportive.”

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide