- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 17, 2014

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - Volleyball players from the University of Arkansas, Arkansas State and the Arkansas-Little Rock have received honors from the American Volleyball Coaches Association.

Making the honorable mention list Wednesday were Meredith Hays from Arkansas, Markie Schaedig from Arkansas State and Edina Begic from UALR.

This is Hays’ third year to make the honorable mention list, giving Arkansas six such honors under coach Robert Pulliza and 11 overall. She had 4.34 kills per set, which was 22nd in the NCAA.

Schaedig is the first player in Arkansas State history to receive national honors. She had 762 digs, the most in the nation this year.

Begic led Arkansas-Little Rock to a 20-0 Sun Belt record and a 25-match win streak. She had 2,189 kills in her career, a school record.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide