- Associated Press - Wednesday, December 17, 2014

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - Minors would need to get their parents’ permission to use tanning beds under a bill that’s headed to Ohio Gov. John Kasich (KAY’-sik).

The House passed legislation 72-2 Wednesday requiring parents to sign a consent form in the presence of a salon operator or employee for a 16- or 17-year-old to tan. The Senate already passed the measure.

The form describes the health risks of tanning and is valid for 90 days. With 16-year-olds, parents would have to sign it before each tanning session and remain present for the duration of each session.

Employees or facility operators could be fined and have their licenses revoked for violating the requirements.

The measure also would require the state Board of Cosmetology to regulate salons that use tanning chemicals, such as spray-on tans.


Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide