- Associated Press - Friday, December 19, 2014

BISMARCK, N.D. (AP) - A nominating committee has chosen six finalists for two spots on the North Dakota Board of Higher Education.

State officials said Thursday the committee chose three finalists for each of two pending vacancies. Board Vice President Terry Hjelmstad of Minot is stepping down after serving one four-year term on the board, which oversees the 11 schools in the state university system. Board member Grant Shaft of Grand Forks is leaving the board after serving the maximum of two terms.

Gov. Jack Dalrymple will nominate one person from each of the two groups to serve on the board. The state Senate must confirm his selections.

The finalists include a former state senator, former University of North Dakota administrator and a former Wahpeton math teacher.

The new terms begin July 1.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide