- Associated Press - Friday, December 19, 2014

WATERBURY, Vt. (AP) - Vermont emergency management officials are asking federal officials to assess damage in eight more counties for possible federal disaster assistance following last week’s snowstorm that caused more than 130,000 power outages.

The additional counties are Addison, Caledonia, Essex, Grand Isle, Orange, Rutland, Washington, and Windsor, on top of Chittenden, Franklin, Lamoille, and Orleans counties.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency started a preliminary assessment of damage on Wednesday.

State officials said Friday that an initial review showed the costs of restoring power in northern and central to be more than $4 million.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide