By Associated Press - Wednesday, December 31, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Gov. Mike Beebe has announced the appointments of seven people to judicial posts in Arkansas - including the appointment of state Supreme Court Justice Cliff Hoofman to the Arkansas Court of Appeals.

Beebe announced Wednesday that Hoofman will replace Judge Rhonda Woods on the state appeals court. Hoofman was appointed by Beebe to the state Supreme Court in 2012 and was not eligible to run for re-election and Woods was elected to replace Hoofman on the state’s highest court.

Beebe also appointed Mike Kinard to the court of appeals and Tim Gauger as a special justice on the state Supreme Court.

The governor appointed Judge Jake Looney as Polk County district judge; Gregory Thurman as district judge for the Eastern District of Carroll County; Donald Betterton as district judge in Mississippi County; and Jeannie Denniston as district judge in Conway County.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide