- Associated Press - Monday, December 8, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) - Four uncapped players have been named by coach Ange Postecoglou in a 46-man Australia squad to prepare for next month’s Asian Cup.

All 23 members of the team Postecoglou took to the World Cup earlier this year are included in the squad, which contains 16 players from the domestic A-League.

Perth Glory midfielder Daniel de Silva is among the newcomers players and is the youngest player in the squad at 17. The other players yet to play for Australia are Brisbane’s Luke Brattan, Perth’s Josh Risdon and Germany-based Mustafa Amini.

Robbie Kruse, Rhys Williams and Josh Kennedy have been named after missing the World Cup with injuries.

Postecoglou will trim the squad to 23 players before Dec. 27 for the Cup which will be played in Australia from Jan. 9.

“I can’t afford to think about 23 players right now, that’s why we’ve cast the net far and wide,” he said. “I feel a lot more comfortable a month out from our first game than I did prior to the World Cup in terms of the options and the depth that we have.”

Veterans Lucas Neill - who is currently without a club - and the injured Luke Wilkshire have been omitted.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide