- Associated Press - Tuesday, December 9, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas House members have selected chairs for the powerful Budget and Audit committees, as well as Legislative Council, as they prepare for next year’s legislative session.

House members of the Budget Committee on Tuesday voted Republican Rep. Lane Jean as the co-chairman of the panel, which considers appropriations bills and crafts the state’s budget for the coming year. Democratic Sen. Larry Teague of Nashville is the other co-chairman of the panel.

The House members of the Audit Committee voted Democratic Rep. Mary Broadaway of Paragould as the panel’s co-chair. Republican Sen. Jimmy Hickey of Texarkana is the committee’s other co-chairman.

Republican Rep. David Branscum of Marshall was selected co-chairman of the Legislative Council. Republican Sen. Bill Sample of Hot Springs is also co-chairman.

The session begins Jan. 12.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide