- Associated Press - Wednesday, February 5, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Mississippi House, on a 86-26 vote Wednesday, passed House Bill 504, which would give teachers a pay raise. The bill will go to the Senate for more work.

A yes vote was a vote for the bill, while a no vote was a vote against it.

Voting yes were 62 Republicans and 24 Democrats. Voting no were two Republicans and 24 Democrats. One Republicans and eight Democrats voted “present,” which does not count for or against the bill. One Democrat was absent


Republicans voting yes (62):

Alday, Walls; Aldridge, Tupelo; Arnold, Booneville; Baker, Brandon; Barker, Hattiesburg; Barton, Moss Point; Beckett, Bruce; Bell, Fulton; Bennett, Long Beach; Bounds, Philadelphia;

Boyd, Mantachie; Chris Brown, Aberdeen; Busby, Pascagoula; Byrd, Petal; Carpenter, Burnsville; Chism, Columbus; Crawford, Pass Christian; Currie, Brookhaven; DeBar, Leakesville; DeLano, Biloxi;

Denny, Jackson; Eure, Biloxi; Formby, Picayune; Frierson, Poplarville; Gipson, Braxton; Guice, Ocean Springs; Gunn, Clinton; Hamilton, Olive Branch; Haney, Gulfport; Hood, Stewart;

Howell, Kilmichael; M. Huddleston, Pontotoc; Jennings, Southaven; Kinkade, Byhalia; Ladner, Poplarville; Lamar, Senatobia; Lott, Sumrall; Martinson, Madison; Mayo, Oxford; McLeod, Lucedale;

Mettetal, Sardis; Mims, McComb; Monsour, Vicksburg; Moore, Brandon; Morgan, Morgantown; Nelson, Southaven; Pigott, Tylertown; Powell, Brandon; Read, Gautier; M. Rogers, New Albany;

R. Rogers, Pearl; Rushing, Decatur; Shows, Ellisville; J. Smith, Columbus; Snowden, Meridian; Staples, Laurel; Taylor, Boyle; Turner, Baldwyn; Weathersby, Florence; White, West;

Willis, Diamondhead; Zuber, Ocean Springs.


Democrats voting yes (24):

Bain, Corinth; Barnes, Gulfport; Blackmon, Canton; Clarke, Jackson; Cockerham, Magnolia; L. Coleman, Mound Bayou; Dickson, Macon; Dixon, Raymond; Eaton, Taylorsville; Holloway, Hazlehurst;

R. Huddleston, Sumner; Johnson, Natchez; Lane, Waynesboro; Malone, Carthage; Middleton, Port Gibson; Miles, Forest; Oberhousen, Terry; Patterson, Biloxi; Reynolds, Charleston; Steverson, D-Ripley;

Stringer, D-Montrose; Sullivan, Okolona; Warren, Mount Olive; Wooten, Jackson.


Republicans voting no (2):

Horne, Meridian; Shirley, Quitman.


Democrats voting no (24):

Anderson, Moss Point; Bailey, Greenville; Banks, Jackson; Baria, Bay St. Louis; Burnett, Tunica; Calhoun, Jackson; Campbell, Jackson; Clark, Pickens; M. Coleman, Jackson; Denton, Vicksburg;

Ellis, Starkville; Espy, Clarksdale; J. Evans, Jackson; M. Evans, Preston; Gibbs, West Point; Harrison, Columbus; Moak, Bogue Chitto; Myers, McComb; Perkins, Greenwood; Scott, Laurel;

F. Smith, Carthage; Straughter, Belzoni; Thomas, Indianola; Watson, Hattiesburg.


Republican voting present (1):

Massengill, Hickory Flat;


Democrats voting present (8):

Cecil Brown, Jackson; B. Evans, Monticello; Faulkner, Holly Springs; Hines, Greenville; Horan, Grenada; Jackson, Como; Whittington, Schlater; Young, Meridian.


Democrat absent (1):

Holland, Plantersville.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide