- Associated Press - Saturday, July 12, 2014

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - Gov. Dennis Daugaard is asking the Small Business Administration to provide disaster assistance to help South Dakotans recover from June storm damages caused by flooding and tornadoes.

The request came after the Federal Emergency Management Agency rejected the state’s request for individual assistance programs for damage to homes and businesses.

The SBA assistance could provide low-interest loans to help owners of homes and businesses recover from the storm damage.

The state is asking that Jerauld and Lincoln counties be designated primary disaster counties. The SBA program also provides assistance to counties contiguous, which would include Buffalo, Hand, Beadle, Sanborn, Aurora, Brule, Minnehaha, Turner, Clay and Union counties.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide