- Associated Press - Tuesday, July 15, 2014

MONTGOMERY, Ala. (AP) - Prattville City Council member Clyde Chambliss Jr. won the Republican runoff for Senate District 30, one of seven legislative runoffs Tuesday night.

Chambliss Jr. defeated businessman Harris Garner. With 84 percent of the precincts reporting Tuesday night, Chambliss had 63 percent of the vote to Garner’s 37 percent.

The seat is currently held by Prattville Sen. Bryan Taylor, who is not seeking re-election. No Democrat is running for the position.

The primary races for seven Alabama legislative seats went to runoffs after candidates for four Senate seats and three House seats were unable to achieve 50 percent of the vote in the June election. Most of the runoffs are occurring on the Republican side after a slate of challengers took on incumbents and candidates backed by the current GOP leadership.

The other legislative races had not been called as of mid-Tuesday evening.

One of the most high-profile races is in Cullman County, where incumbent Republican Rep. Mac Buttram faces Good Hope Mayor Corey Harbison for the GOP nomination for House District 12.

Speaker of the House Mike Hubbard and other Republicans campaigned door-to-door in Cullman last week in support of Buttram. The Alabama Education Association ran ads against Buttram.

Harbison has run as a Montgomery outsider and on a platform of repealing Common Core. There is not a Democrat in the race.

Republicans Arnold Mooney and Amie Beth Shaver are competing for House District 43. The seat was open because of the retirement of Rep. Mary Sure McClurkin, R-Indian Springs. There is not a Democrat in the race.

Many of the runoffs are occurring in open Senate seats.

Tim Melson and Chris Seibert are competing for Senate District 1, which is currently held by Democratic Sen. Tammy Irons, D-Florence. The winner will face Democrat Mike Curtis in November.

Republicans Greg Albritton and Harry D’Olive Jr. are competing for the nomination for Senate District 22 which is currently held by Sen. Marc Keahey, D-Grove Hill. The winner will face Democrat Susan Smith in November.

Irons and Keahey are not seeking re-election. Republican legislators redrew the two Democrats’ districts in a way that would have made it difficult for the incumbents to win.

There is also a runoff in the race to replace outgoing Sen. Scott Beason of Gardendale. Beason unsuccessfully ran for Congress this year.

Brett King and Shay Shelnutt face off for Beason’s Senate District 17 seat. There is not a Democrat in the race.

There is only one Democratic legislative runoff. Rep. Ralph A. Howard of Greensboro faces challenger Thomas Moore for House District 72. There is not a Republican in the race.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide