- Associated Press - Friday, July 4, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Jackson Mayor Tony Yarber has named himself and two city officials to a board that will help oversee how the city of Jackson spends money generated by a 1 percent sales tax that took effect earlier this year.

Yarber also appointed city attorney James Anderson and Charles Williams, interim director of Jackson’s Department of Public Works.

They join former House Speaker Tim Ford; Hinds County Republican chairman Pete Perry; Jackson State University President Carolyn Meyers; Tougaloo College President Beverly Hogan; Greater Jackson Chamber Partnership President/CEO Duane O’Neill; and Jackson businessman Godwin Dafe.

The board will develop a spending plan for improving Jackson’s roads and water and sewer systems.

The tax was approved by Jackson voters in January.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide