- Associated Press - Monday, July 7, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Department of Education says only five Arkansas school districts have applied for a new program that provides free breakfasts and lunches to all students.

The department says 83 districts statewide qualify for the Community Eligibility Provision, which was passed as part of the federal Healthy Hunger-free Kids Act of 2010. State education officials tell the Arkansas Democrat-Gazette (https://bit.ly/1oBnN5a ) that the initial deadline to apply was in June, but that deadline has been extended to the end of August.

Under the program, the state determines which districts are eligible, based on how many students rely on food stamps, are in foster care or are considered homeless or migrant.

The five districts that have applied are Mulberry, Harrisburg, Dermott, Augusta and Little Rock Preparatory Academy.


Information from: Arkansas Democrat-Gazette, https://www.arkansasonline.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide