- Associated Press - Monday, July 7, 2014

HELENA, Mont. (AP) - Three Big Sky Conference football players begin the 2014 season on The Sports Network’s Walter Payton Award watch list.

Montana quarterback Jordan Johnson was named to the 20-player list along with and Eastern Washington quarterback Vernon Adams and Eagles receiver Cooper Kupp.

Adams finished second in 2013 Payton Award balloting after passing for 4,994 yards and 55 touchdowns as a sophomore. Kupp won the Jerry Rice Award for the top freshman in the Football Championship Subdivision after catching 93 passes and leading the nation with 1,691 receiving yards and 21 touchdowns.

EWU went unbeaten in the Big Sky Conference and advanced to the FCS national semifinals.

Johnson passed for 3,387 yards and 32 touchdowns with just five interceptions last season as he helped Montana earn an at-large berth in the playoffs.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide