- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 11, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Brooklyn, Michigan.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 11 a.m.-1:30 p.m.), qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 3:30-5 p.m.); Saturday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 9:30-10:30 a.m., 12:30-1:30 p.m.); Sunday, race, 1 p.m. (TNT, noon-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles).

Race distance: 400 miles, 200 laps.

Last year: Greg Biffle raced to his second straight Michigan victory, holding off Kevin Harvick after Jimmie Johnson hit the wall in the final laps.

Last week: Dale Earnhardt Jr. won at Pocono for his second victory of the year. Brad Keselowski was second.

Fast facts: Earnhardt also won the Daytona 500. He won the June 2008 and 2012 Michigan races for his only victories in his first six seasons with Hendrick Motorsports. … Hendrick drivers have won the last four points races. Jeff Gordon won at Kansas, and Johnson swept the Charlotte and Dover races. … Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Earnhardt, Johnson, Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano are tied for the victory lead with two. Gordon, Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. … Juan Pablo Montoya, racing full-time in IndyCar this year after seven seasons in NASCAR, will drive Team Penske’s No. 12 Ford. He also will race at Indianapolis in July. … Logano won the August race at the track.

Next race: Toyota-Save Mart 350, June 22, Sonoma Raceway, Sonoma, California.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Brooklyn, Michigan.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 12:30-1:30 p.m., 2-3:30 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 10:30 a.m.-noon), race, 2 p.m. (ESPN, 1:30-4:30 p.m.).

Track: Michigan International Speedway (oval, 2.0 miles).

Race distance: 250 miles, 125 laps.

Last year: Regan Smith raced to the second of his two 2013 victories, holding off Kyle Larson.

Last race: Kyle Busch won at Dover on May 31 for his third victory of the season. He extended his series-record victory total to 66

Fast facts: Dale Earnhardt Jr. is making his fourth Nationwide start of the season. He has two victories - in 1999 and 2006 - in four series starts at the track. … Busch won at the track in 2004. … Sam Hornish Jr. is driving the No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. He won at Iowa on May 18 in his last series start.

Next race: Gardner Denver 200, June 21, Road America, Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Madison, Illinois

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 2, 4-6 p.m.; Fox Sports 1, 7-9 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 2, 5-6:30 p.m.), race, 8:30 p.m. (Fox Sports 1, 8-11 p.m.)

Track: Gateway Motorsports Park (oval, 1.25 miles).

Race distance: 200 miles, 160 laps.

Last year: Inaugural race.

Last week: Matt Crafton raced to his second victory of the season, running the final 61 laps at Texas Motor Speedway on one tank of fuel.

Fast facts: Defending series champion Crafton leads the season standings, 11 points ahead of ThorSport Racing teammate Johnny Sauter. Crafton also won in March at Martinsville. … The series raced at the track from 1998-2010.

Next race: UNOH 225, June 26, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Kentucky.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Bristol, Tennessee.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 6-8 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 11 p.m.-1 a.m.).

Track: Bristol Dragway.

Last year: John Force raced to the first of his four 2013 victories en route to a record 16th season title. Steve Torrence won in Top Fuel, and Rodger Brogdon in Pro Stock.

Last event: Australia’s Richie Crampton won the Summernationals on June 1 in Englishtown, New Jersey, for his first Top Fuel victory. Cruz Pedregon won in Funny Car, Jeg Coughlin in Pro Stock, and Andrew Hines in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner in the first nine events, leads the Funny Car standings - 246 points ahead of teammate and owner Force. The 65-year-old Force won the season-opening Winternationals for his record 139th victory. … Doug Kalitta has a 103-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel. Kalitta has one victory this season, and Brown has three. … Erica Enders-Stevens, a two-time winner this year, tops the Pro Stock standings.

Next event: New England Nationals, June 19-22, New England Dragway and Motorsports Park, Epping, New Hampshire.

Online: https://www.nhra.com



Next races: Grand Prix of Houston, June 28 and 29, Streets of Houston, Houston.

Last week: Owner-driver Ed Carpenter won at Texas Motor Speedway, holding off Team Penske’s Will Power in a two-lap shootout.

Online: https://www.indycar.com



Next race: Austrian Grand Prix, June 22, Red Bull Ring, Spielberg, Austria.

Last week: Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo won the Canadian Grand Prix for his first F1 victory, ending Mercedes’ season-opening winning streak at six.

Online: https://www.formula1.com



AUTOMOBILE CLUB DE L’OUEST: 24 Hours of Le Mans, Saturday-Sunday (Saturday, Fox Sports 1, 8:30 a.m.-4 p.m.; Fox Sports 2, 4-5 p.m., 6:30 p.m.-2 a.m.; Sunday, Fox Sports 1, 2-7:30 a.m.; Fox Sports 2, 7:30-9:30 a.m.) Circuit de la Sarthe, Le Mans, France. Online: https://www.lemans.org

ARCA RACING SERIES: Corrigan Oil 200, Friday (Fox Sports 1, 5-7 p.m.), Michigan International Speedway, Brooklyn, Michigan. Online: https://www.arcaracing.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Silver Crown: Saturday, Gateway Motorsports Park, Madison, Illinois. Online: https://www.usacracing.co

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, Jackson Speedway, Jackson, Minnesota; Saturday, Knoxville Raceway, Knoxville, Iowa. Online: https://www.worldofoutlaws.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide