TUPELO, Miss. (AP) - The cities of Saltillo and Guntown are taking steps to keep track of local rental property and make sure all renters are living in safe environments.
The Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal reports (https://bit.ly/1hQUFaF ) each Lee County city is requiring that rental properties be registered and inspected before they can be leased.
Officials said the programs protect renters by making sure properties are up to code, and they also help landlords by protecting them from bad tenants.
Saltillo will require an annual registration fee of $50 for all homes and trailer homes and $25 for each duplex or apartment unit being rented. Once registered, the city will inspect the properties to make sure they are in good condition.
“We get a lot of complaints from renters and the people around them about the condition of the property,” said Brian Grissom, building and zoning administrator for Saltillo. “Quite a few of these people can’t get the landlords to do anything.”
Saltillo Mayor Rex Smith said a lot of the areas where they see negligent maintenance are also where they see crime.
“The purpose is to get everything fixed,” Grissom said. “We want to see this stuff either done away with or brought up to a living standard.”
Smith said he hopes no landlord uses the new registration system as an excuse to raise rent prices, since the registration fees have only increased by $4 a month for a 12-month lease.
Landlords and rental property owners in Saltillo who fail to register face a $350 fine per property. Landlords who are late will be charged $10 per property per month.
In Guntown, rental property owners will be required to register and pay a fee of $20 per house. The houses also will be inspected annually.
“We’ve had complaints from people renting property who are asking landlords to repair things that should be repaired and aren’t,” said Guntown Mayor Bud Herring. “It’s to protect our renters as well as our landlords. Before a rental we go in and inspect so there is a note if the renter does damage something.”
Guntown rental property owners who fail to register will be fined up to $300 and also face a $10 per month per property late fee.
Information from: Northeast Mississippi Daily Journal, https://djournal.com
Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.