- Associated Press - Friday, June 13, 2014

WASHINGTON (AP) - Trustees of the National Gallery of Art have elected New York City investor and philanthropist Frederick W. Beinecke as the museum’s president.

The gallery announced Friday that Beinecke (BUY-nek-ee) will move into the lead role July 19. He succeeds Washington philanthropist Victoria Sant, who has been president since 2003. Sant will remain on the board until July 2015.

Beinecke is president of Antaeus Enterprises Inc., a private investment company, and he is on the board of advisers for Venture Investment Associates. He joined the museum’s trustees council in 2004 and was elected a trustee in 2007.

The National Gallery is governed by a public-private board. It includes Chief Justice John Roberts, Secretary of State John Kerry, Treasury Secretary Jacob Lew, Smithsonian Secretary Wayne Clough (CLUFF’) and five private members.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide