- Associated Press - Wednesday, June 18, 2014

All Times EDT




Site: Sonoma, California.

Schedule: Friday, practice (Fox Sports 1, 3-5 p.m., 6:30-8 p.m.); Saturday, qualifying (Fox Sports 1, 1:30-3 p.m.); Sunday, race, 3 p.m. (TNT, 2-6:30 p.m.).

Track: Sonoma Raceway (road course, 1.99 miles).

Race distance: 218.9 miles, 110 laps.

Last year: Martin Truex Jr. snapped a 218-race winless streak to give Michael Waltrip Racing its second straight victory at the track. Clint Bowyer won in 2012.

Last week: Six-time series champion Jimmie Johnson won at Michigan International Speedway for his third victory in the last four races.

Fast facts: Race winners get first priority for the 16-driver Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup as long as they are in the top 30 in the standings and attempted to qualify for every race. Johnson leads the series with his three victories. Dale Earnhardt Jr., Kevin Harvick and Joey Logano each have two wins, and Jeff Gordon, Brad Keselowski, Carl Edwards, Kyle Busch, Denny Hamlin and Kurt Busch also have won. Gordon leads the standings. … Gordon has a Cup-record nine road-course wins, five at Sonoma and four at Watkins Glen. Tony Stewart has seven road-course victories, two at Sonoma and five at Watkins Glen.

Next race: Quaker State 400, June 28, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Kentucky.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Elkhart Lake, Wisconsin.

Schedule: Friday, practice; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 11:30 a.m.-1 p.m.), race, 2:45 p.m. (ABC, 2:30-6 p.m.)

Track: Road America (road course, 4.048 miles).

Race distance: 202.4 miles, 50 laps.

Last year: AJ Allmendinger won for owner Roger Penske, holding off Justin Allgaier on the second attempt at a green-white-checkered finish.

Last week: Sprint Cup driver Paul Menard won at Michigan. Sam Hornish Jr. was second.

Fast facts: The race is the first of three road-course events. In August, the series will race at Watkins Glen and Mid-Ohio. Allmendinger, also the winner last year at Mid-Ohio, is racing in Sprint Cup for JTG Daugherty. Alex Tagliani is driving Penske’s No. 22 Ford. … Regan Smith leads the standings, 14 points ahead of Elliott Sadler.

Next race: John R. Elliott Hero Campaign 300, June 27, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Kentucky.

Online: https://www.nascar.com



Next race: UNOH 225, June 26, Kentucky Speedway, Sparta, Kentucky.

Last week: Darrell Wallace Jr. raced to his second career victory, holding off German Quiroga at Gateway in Madison, Illinois.

Online: https://www.nascar.com




Site: Spielberg, Austria.

Schedule: Friday, practice (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Saturday, practice, qualifying (NBC Sports Network, 8-9:30 a.m.); Sunday, race, 8 a.m. (NBC Sports Network, 7:30-10:30 a.m., 2:30-5 p.m.).

Track: Red Bull Ring (road course, 2.69 miles).

Race distance: 190.1 miles, 71 laps.

Last year: No race.

Last race: Red Bull’s Daniel Ricciardo won the Canadian Grand Prix on June 8 for his first F1 victory, ending Mercedes’ season-opening winning streak at six.

Fast facts: The series last raced at the track in 2002. … Mercedes’ Nico Rosberg leads the season standings, 22 points ahead of teammate Lewis Hamilton. Rosberg won the season-opening race in Australia, finished second behind Hamilton in Malaysia, Bahrain, China and Spain, and then won in Monaco. … Four-time defending series champion Sebastian Vettel is fifth in the standings, 80 points Rosberg. Vettel won 13 races last year for Red Bull to match Michael Schumacher’s record.

Next race: British Grand Prix, July 6, Silverstone Circuit, Silverstone, England.

Online: https://www.formula1.com




Site: Epping, New Hampshire.

Schedule: Friday, qualifying; Saturday, qualifying (ESPN2, 7-8 p.m.); Sunday, final eliminations, (ESPN2, 10-4 p.m.).

Track: New England Dragway and Motorsports Park.

Last year: Courtney Force beat father John Force in the Funny Car final. Spencer Massey won in Top Fuel, Allen Johnson in Pro Stock, and John Hall in Pro Stock Motorcycle.

Last week: Defending Top Fuel champion Shawn Langdon raced to his first victory of the year, beating points leader Doug Kalitta at Bristol, Tennessee. Tommy Johnson Jr. won in Funny Car final, and Erica Enders-Stevens topped the Pro Stock field.

Fast facts: Robert Hight, a four-time winner in the first nine events, leads the Funny Car standings - 265 points ahead of teammate and owner John Force. The 65-year-old Force won the season-opening Winternationals for his record 139th victory. … Kalitta has a 120-point lead over Antron Brown in Top Fuel. Kalitta has one victory this season, and Brown has three. … Enders-Stevens, a three-time winner this year, tops the Pro Stock standings. Andrew Hines, a two-time winner, leads the Pro Stock Motorcycle points race.

Next event: Route 66 NHRA Nationals, June 26-29, Route 66 Raceway, Joliet, Illinois.

Online: https://www.nhra.com



Next races: Grand Prix of Houston, June 28 and 29, Streets of Houston, Houston.

Last race: Owner-driver Ed Carpenter won at Texas Motor Speedway on June 7, holding off Team Penske’s Will Power in a two-lap shootout.

Online: https://www.indycar.com



ARCA RACING SERIES: Akona 250, Saturday (CBS Sports Network, 9-11 p.m.), Elko Speedway, Elko, Minnesota. Online: https://www.arcaracing.com

WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Sprint Car: Friday, River Cities Speedway, Grand Forks, North Dakota; Saturday, I-94 Speedway, Fergus Falls, Minnesota. Online: https://www.worldofoutlaws.com

U.S. AUTO RACING CLUB: Sprint Car: Friday, Amsoil Speedway, Superior, Wisconsin; Saturday, Deer Creek Speedway, Spring Valley, Minnesota; Sunday, Angell Park Speedway, Sun Prairie, Wisconsin. Online: https://www.usacracing.com



Click to Read More

Click to Hide