By Associated Press - Friday, June 20, 2014

NASHVILLE, Tenn. (AP) - State officials say six cities have been chosen to participate in the Tennessee Downtowns program.

Department of Economic and Community Development Commissioner Bill Hagerty says the communities of Arlington, Carthage, Ducktown, Etowah, Jamestown and Shelbyville have been selected for the program.

Tennessee Downtowns is a community improvement program for cities and counties seeking to turn traditional commercial districts into places where people want to shop, live and have fun. The six selected communities are home to downtown commercial districts established at least 50 years ago.

The communities will form a volunteer committee of citizens who will participate in a two-year training curriculum supported by the National Main Street Center. The curriculum is designed to teach citizens about comprehensive, sustainable downtown revitalization and historic preservation.

Copyright © 2022 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide