- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) - Parents will have to use a car seat for children up to 5 years old under a new law approved by Gov. Rick Scott.

Scott on Tuesday signed a bill (HB 225) that increases Florida’s car seat requirement from 4 years old to 5 years old. Starting in January, parents will no longer be allowed to use seat belts for children under 5.

The new law allows parents to use booster seats to meet the requirements.

Past efforts to raise the age requirement for car seats have gone nowhere in the Legislature. Former Gov. Jeb Bush in 2001 vetoed a bill to increase the age.

There are exceptions to the new law, including if a child is being transported by someone who is not a member of the immediate family.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide