- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 24, 2014

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - The U.S. Small Business Administration has approved a disaster declaration for Newaygo and Osceola counties following storms and flooding in April.

Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder, who requested the declaration, announced Monday that it was approved.

Snyder’s office says in a statement that the declaration paves the way for financial assistance for affected residents and business owners. It also would cover Clare, Kent, Lake, Mecosta, Missaukee, Montcalm, Muskegon, Oceana and Wexford counties.

The Small Business Administration disaster assistance program will make low-interest loans available to eligible residents and businesses.

Snyder in April declared a “state of disaster” for Newaygo and Osceola counties due to severe weather and widespread flooding, making state help available. The declaration was later amended to include Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Muskegon, Roscommon and Wexford counties.




Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide