- Associated Press - Thursday, June 26, 2014

NEW YORK (AP) - Florida and Vanderbilt will have their women’s lacrosse programs compete in the Big East starting next season.

As the only Southeastern Conference schools with women’s lacrosse programs, Florida and Vanderbilt had been part of the American Lacrosse Conference. The conference dissolved in May after 13 years, forcing Florida and Vanderbilt to search for a new league.

The Big East announced Thursday it was adding both teams.

Their additions will give the Big East an eight-school women’s lacrosse league that also includes Cincinnati, Connecticut, Georgetown, Marquette, Temple and Villanova.

Florida went 18-3 this season and won the American Lacrosse Conference regular-season and tournament titles before losing to Northwestern in the NCAA quarterfinals.

Vanderbilt went 5-12 this season and last reached the NCAA tournament in 2010.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide