- Associated Press - Friday, June 27, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Monday is the deadline to register for assistance from the Federal Emergency Management Agency and the U.S. Small Business Administration.

The Mississippi Emergency Management Agency, FEMA and SBA say that nearly $17.7 million in federal assistance has been approved for residents in 12 Mississippi counties hit by severe storms, tornadoes and flooding that occurred April 28 through May 3.

WTVA-TV reports (https://bit.ly/1nQtZTQ ) of that, nearly $12.5 million in low-interest disaster loans has been approved by SBA for 197 homeowners, renters and businesses, while almost $5.2 million in FEMA Individual Assistance grants has been approved to help Mississippi disaster survivors recover.

Residents in Itawamba, Jones, Leake, Lee, Lowndes, Madison, Montgomery, Rankin, Simpson, Warren, Wayne and Winston counties may be eligible for FEMA’s program.

Visit FEMA.gov or call 800-621-3362 for more information.


Information from: WTVA-TV, https://www.wtva.com

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide