- Associated Press - Saturday, June 28, 2014

COLUMBIA, S.C. (AP) - A new law allows 15 counties in South Carolina to collect an additional penny on sales taxes for school construction. The five newly given that authority are Aiken, Anderson, Beaufort, Georgetown, and Kershaw counties. The state sales tax is 6 percent. Ten counties already collect an additional penny for schools under previous laws. Here’s when they’re set to expire and the current sales tax in those counties, when including all local option taxes:

-Cherokee: 2016. 8 percent.

-Charleston: 2017. 8.5 percent.

-Lexington: 2019. 7 percent.

-Horry: 2024. 7 percent. (8 percent within Myrtle Beach)

-Chesterfield: 2025, or whenever a maximum of $60 million is collected. 8 percent.

-Jasper: 2027, or when $46 million is met. 8 percent.

-Clarendon: 2029. 8 percent.

-Darlington: 2030, or when $48 million is met. 8 percent.

-Marlboro: 2038, 8 percent.

-Dillon: 2048, or when $60 million is met. 8 percent.

Source: South Carolina Department of Revenue



Click to Read More

Click to Hide