- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 3, 2014

ABUJA, Nigeria (AP) - Veteran defender Joseph Yobo will travel to his third World Cup after reviving his international career with Nigeria and making coach Stephen Keshi’s 23-man squad for Brazil.

Yobo said he was retiring after Nigeria won the African Cup last year, but was back in favor and made the final list released by the national federation on Tuesday.

The squad is in the United States for its final tournament preparations.

Midfielder John Obi Mikel and strikers Emmanuel Emenike, Shola Ameobi, Victor Moses and Peter Odemwingie were also picked. But midfielder Sunday Mba, who scored the winning goal in the African Cup final, was left out after he joined the squad late because of travel visa problems.

The African champion plays Greece and the United States in its final warm-up games this week before facing Iran, Bosnia and Argentina in the World Cup group stage.

At the World Cup, Yobo has the chance to become Nigeria’s first player to win 100 caps. His international career appeared over after he was used only as a substitute in the latter stages of the victorious African Cup of Nations campaign last year in South Africa, and he said after the final it would be his last tournament with the team. He was recalled and captained Nigeria in a 2-2 friendly draw with Scotland in London last week.

Keshi also gave a second chance to Stoke striker Odemwingie, who was out of contention last year after apparently falling out with the coach. He’s joined by fellow England-based forwards Ameobi and Moses. Emenike, who was the joint top scorer at the African Cup, and CSKA Moscow’s Ahmed Musa give Nigeria a host of attacking options.

Chelsea’s Mikel will play at his first World Cup after he missed out four years ago because of an injury, and is joined by Lazio midfielder Ogenyi Onazi. Vincent Enyeama of French club Lille will likely be the first-choice goalkeeper.

Nigeria hasn’t reached the second round of a World Cup since 1998.



Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva), Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United).

Defenders: Joseph Yobo (Norwich), Elderson Echiejile (Monaco), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod), Godfrey Oboabona (Caykur Rizespor), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough), Efe Ambrose (Celtic), Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars).

Midfielders: John Mikel Obi (Chelsea), Ogenyi Onazi (Lazio), Ramon Azeez (Almeria), Michael Uchebo (Cercle Brugge), Reuben Gabriel (Waasland-Beveren).

Forwards: Peter Odemwingie (Stoke), Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow), Shola Ameobi (unattached), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce), Michael Babatunde (Volyn Lutsk), Victor Moses (Liverpool), Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen).

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide