- Associated Press - Monday, June 30, 2014

ST. LOUIS (AP) - A third suburban St. Louis County school district says it will no longer accept transfer students from the Normandy system now that a state law has changed that struggling district’s accreditation status.

The Ferguson-Florissant School Board says it voted unanimously to uphold a district policy prohibiting non-resident students from enrolling in the district. The vote follows similar decisions in University City and the Francis Howell system in St. Charles County.

The unaccredited Normandy district is being dissolved by the state and replaced by the renamed Normandy Schools Collaborative under state oversight but with no accreditation status. That change allows other districts to turn away Normandy transfers.

The St. Louis Post-Dispatch (bit.ly/1m3ozYo ) reports that five other county school systems will allow Normandy transfer students to remain in the upcoming academic year.


Information from: St. Louis Post-Dispatch, https://www.stltoday.com

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide